Wednesday 19 September 2012

Last call for submisisons to The Moët British Independent Film Awards - Fri, 21st September

The submission deadline for The Moet British Independent Film Awards is this Friday, 21 September. All films must be submitted for consideration by this date so if you - or anyone you know - is holding off from submitting, don't hold back! The Awards will be held on Sunday 9th December at Old Billingsgate.

Film submissions for the 2012 Awards close this Friday, 21stSeptember with the Award Ceremony on Sunday 9th December at Old Billingsgate.

Nominations will be announced Monday 5th November

A feature film will be eligible for an Award if:
  • It is intended for theatrical release, AND has had a public screening to a paying audience either on general release in the UK OR has screened at a British-based film festival between 1st December 2011 and 30th November 2012
  • Where there is any major studio substantially funding a film, the total budget should not exceed $20M. Films are not defined as “independent” strictly on the terms of financing.
  • It has been produced or majority co-produced by a British company OR is in receipt of at least 51% of its budget from a British source or sources OR it qualifies as a British Film under the DCMS guidelines AND includes sufficient creative elements from the UK
  • A feature film must be no less than 70 minutes in length.
  • Films that have been entered previously are not eligible. Re-issues of previously released films are not eligible
Best British Feature Documentary. In 2003 the British Independent Film Awards introduced this new award. Eligible films must be non-fiction. They should be photographed in actual occurrence, or employ partial re-enactment, stock footage, stills, animation, stop-motion or other techniques, as long as the emphasis is on fact and not on fiction. (further eligibility criteria as with other feature films above).

Best International Independent Film. BIFA also consider foreign independent films. Foreign films must have a British theatrical release during the eligibility period stated above

The Douglas Hickox Award is given to a director for their debut feature film. The estate of Douglas Hickox shall present a cheque for £500 to the winner.

British Short Film Award submissions: Any British short films that have won an award between the 10th October 2011 and 9th October 2012 are eligible for consideration. Any variations are at the sole discretion and recommendation of the film committee. A short film must be no longer than 40 minutes (including credits).

All eligible films submitted for consideration will be viewed by BIFA Film Selection Members. Members vote by secret ballot firstly to draw up a long list then again to determine the nominations. All nominated films are then viewed by an independent Jury appointed each year. The winners are announced during the evening of the Awards Ceremony.

The Special Jury Prize will be decided entirely at the Jury's discretion.

Variety Award recognises an actor, director, writer or producer who has helped to focus the international spotlight on the UK

The Richard Harris Award for Outstanding Contribution to British Film by an Actor (male/female) to be decided by the Advisory Committee with the input of the Harris family.

All films must be submitted for consideration by 21st September 2012.

Under exceptional circumstances, inclusion and consideration of films which do not strictly comply with the above criteria will be subject to the discretion of the British Independent Film Awards Advisory Committee.

For more information about BIFA or submitting a film visit:

No comments:

Post a Comment