Friday 25 May 2012

The Short Film Competition finalists

On Wednesday 30th May, Episodes star Stephen Mangan will host the finals for the third Short Film Competition at The Hospital Club.

Year on year the competition attracts a high calibre of film makers vying for the Grand Prix of £10,000 and the opportunity it brings to further their career in film.  With over 500 entries received this year, 12 finalists have been selected to go before the judging panel on Wednesday night to decide the winner.   This year’s entries include performances from Nick Moran (Harry Potter & The Deathly Hallows), Montserrat Lombard (Ashes to Ashes), Olivia Poulet (In The Thick Of It) and Eggsy from Goldie Lookin’ Chain. The panel of six industry judges include award winning director Paul Weiland, Universal’s Diane Kelly and The Reel’s Jamie Madge

Reed Managing Director says,"The contest this year has been extraordinary, attracting films of an extremely high standard. The shortlist showcases some incredible talent and our hope is that this competition will give a real boost to the careers of some of the individuals who've taken part." Short Film Competition was established in 2010 to give aspiring film makers a platform to have their work seen by the industry and the opportunity to further their career in film.  In addition to the Grand Prix, the competition also awards prizes for the Judges Commendation, The People’s Choice Award and Best Animation for which 3 finalists have been selected. 

Oscar Sharp won the first competition with Sign Language and is currently working with Olivia Colman (Tyrannosaur, The Iron Lady) and Shaun Dooley (The Woman in Black) on his latest film.  Last year’s winner Ben Ridolfi is currently developing his first feature. 

Following last year’s competition, shortlisted filmmakers from the first two competitions were invited to create a TV ad for, six of which were selected and put before a public vote.  The winning entry, Super Reed, by Jonathan Brooks, Mat Laroche and comedy trio The Wogans, aired on major television networks in the UK earlier this year. Short Film Competition Finals
  • The Hospital Club
  • Champagne Reception:  7:30pm
  • Awards Commence:  8:15pm
Find out more at

The Finalists
  • Boss Boot Camp
  • Director: Paul Cook
  • Starring: N/A
  • The Boss
  • Director: Alex Emslie
  • Starring: N/A
  • The Devils Apricot
  • Director: Jonathan Brooks
  • Starring: John Rutledge, Mark Davison, Charlotte Hunter
  • Disconnected
  • Director: Tom Edkins
  • Starring: N/A
  • Gaffer
  • Director: Alex Hinx
  • Starring: N/A
  • Going Up
  • Director: Francis Annan
  • Starring: Martin Collins, Adam Loxley
  • Man Up
  • Director: Carolina Giammetta
  • Starring: Nick Moran, Nicholas Khan, Callam Dixon, Danielle Lydon
  • Mourning Rules
  • Director: Daniel Castella
  • Starring: Olivia Poulet, Montserrat Lombard, Joseph Millson
  • Moynihan and the Boss
  • Director: Mat Laroche
  • Starring: Justin Richards, Mat Laroche,
  • My First Time
  • Director: Steve Lennon
  • Starring: Shane Durrant
  • Spider and Fly: Private Eye
  • Director: Oliver Smith
  • Starring: N/A
  • The Wireless
  • Director: Mark Fitzsimons
  • Starring: Ciaran Murphy, Nickie Dunphy, Nathan Twigg

No comments:

Post a Comment